UI Design
In my previous job I was responsible for all interactive design work, but only in PATEO can I apply Chinese people’s design capability in future interaction.

PATEO UI Design Director

Software interaction design
Combine driving performance with comfort and fun
Since the launch of Austin 7 in the 1920s, the nature of cars has remained unchanged, with no dramatic changes made to the driving position, control design, size, and internal combustion engine of cars in the past 80 years or more. However, we now live in the Era of Intelligence and Connectivity. When cars are configured with intelligent devices, we are on the threshold of a new era of the automotive industry, where users can easily access information without limitation. In the new era, we shall not only maintain the nature of cars and guarantee safety for passengers and pedestrians, but also enable users to have pleasant driving experience and smooth interaction with the car.
PATEO Design Centers on User Experience

As a result the interactive interface in cars has become more complex. How should we design HMI, an important part of user-vehicle interaction?

In-vehicle interactive design includes hard interaction and soft interaction. Hard interaction refers to operations of the driver, which shall be carefully designed. For example, the driver can change the position of the driver's seat by pressing a button, or enter a POI into the satellite navigation system through GUI and then activate the in-vehicle entertainment system.

Soft interaction refers to machine operations, such as automatic deactivation of the turn light signal, which is carried out by the machine rather than by the user. Soft interaction highlights the role of built-in sensors and the concept of vehicle connectivity, for example, display of relevant information through HUD, automatic adjustment of illumination, and automatically checking whether the driver has closed his/her eyes. Besides, there is a clear boundary between assist and distraction, so soft interaction requires great maintenance and proper execution. According to PATEO design team, the key to HMI design is to combine hard and soft interaction.

Then, what is the objective of HMI design?

In PATEO, HMI design shall be centered on the driver and passengers (especially the driver), and be scenario-based (which helps identify and solve problems). HMI design shall ensure safety, convenience, entertainment and interaction, of which safety is of utmost importance.

Owing to development of hardware and diversification of interactive means (from simply pressing the buttons to integration of touch screen, voice, gesture, or face/eye recognition, etc.), during HMI design, the focus of in-vehicle instrument design has shifted from "information display + weak interaction" to "information display + strong interaction".

The difference between multi-screen and integrated screen lies in the mode of interaction and information display, and their similarity consists in integration of in-vehicle interactive system. In a word, during vehicle-user interaction, software and hardware shall be combined to guarantee accurate information input and quick information output.

Enhance interaction safety with simplicity

Thus, HMI design is aimed not only to help users conduct simple operations, but also to meet potential demands (i.e. reasonable demands) of the driver and passengers while on the road on the condition of guaranteed safety. Complicated HMI design and limited memory capacity of human beings may impose extra burden on users. As a result, HMI design shall also minimize distraction of the driver's attention and possibility of making mistakes by reducing the use of distracting devices (e.g. mobile phone) to the largest extent.

Think out of the box and be user-oriented

Therefore, PATEO design team has attached greater importance to user experience rather than follow conventional design and operation logic. No matter they focus on user experience or operation logic, both car manufacturers and design companies shall make sure that their products can live up to expectations of users who pay for them. Users have the final say on the market.

Business Contact

By completing and submitting the form, you agree to be contacted by PATEO regarding the matter specified herein.

Description of proposed cooperation

By completing and submitting the form, you agree to have your personal information collected and used by PATEO according to PATEO Privacy Policy, and to be contacted by PATEO regarding the matter specified herein.

Contact Us more
For a better experience, please use the vertical screen to browse

软件交互设计
在摩托罗拉我主持所有交互设计,然而在博泰我才将中国人的设计能力真正用于在未来的交互中。

博泰UI设计主管

软件交互设计
保留驾驶本质,增加乐趣快感
自20世纪20年代的 Austin 7问世以来,汽车以驾驶形式出现的本质就未曾改变。传统汽车特有的驾驶位置、转控设计、规格大小、所依靠的内燃机在过去80多年都没有发生任何重大改变。而如今我们所处的时代是一个智能互联的新时代,当智能化的元素加入到汽车,自然也就开启了汽车行业的新纪元。用户可以尽情享受畅通、无限制的接收信息,在保证驾驶的本质、乘客以及行人安全的同时,也能体验最重要的驾驶乐趣以及与汽车融为一体的酣畅感。
一切设计,还得回归用户体验

随着先进的计算机系统与车辆的整合日益紧密,车内的交互界面也变得日益复杂。作为驾驶者和车辆之间交互的主要一环,这些「人机界面」(HMI)又该怎样呈现呢?

我们通常所说的车内交互设计类型分为硬交互方式和软交互方式。硬交互方式可被定义为司机的操控动作,这种操控动作是谨慎的。例如司机按下一个按钮可以改变驾驶座椅的位置,或者通过GUI将位置信息输入到卫星导航系统方式,然后使用车载娱乐系统。

软交互方式可以被定义为机器而不是用户的操控动作。 例如,自动取消转向灯的信号。这个行为是不需要用户参与,而是直接由机器自动完成一系列动作。后一种交互类型更加突出嵌入式内部传感器的作用和互联汽车的概念。例如,可以将一些相关信息通过HUD显示出来、自动调节灯光亮度甚至可以检测驾驶员是否已经闭眼。另外,在辅助和分心之间有一个明确的界限,因此软交互方式需要更多的维护和恰到好处的执行。所以,博泰认为将硬交互方式和软交互方式组合在一起,这才是汽车 HMI 设计的关键。

那么,HMI 设计的目的是什么?

博泰认为,HMI 必须围绕驾驶人以及乘客展开(驾驶人是绝对核心),利用场景化的方法进行设计(将需求场景化,更容易发现解决问题)。它需要兼顾以下几点:安全、便利、娱乐、社交,而“安全”作为首要条件的地位不能改变。

由于硬件的发展以及交互手段的多样化(从单一按钮到触屏、语音、手势、人脸眼球识别等发展),HMI的设计趋势由车内仪表正处在由“信息展示+弱交互”向“信息展示+强交互”发展的阶段。

无论是多屏化还是多屏融合,它们只是交互和信息展示方式的不同,但都代表了未来交互车载系统集成化的趋势。总的来说,用户在和车辆交互中,必须结合软硬件,从而保障信息输入的传达准确和信息输出的反馈便捷。

去繁从简,给足交互安全感

所以,HMI设计不仅仅要满足用户一些简单的车内操作,更多的是在保证安全的前提下,更好的满足司机乘客驾驶过程中可能产生的需求(当然这里是指合理要求)。车内HMI的复杂性加上人们有限的记忆能力,可能导致驾驶员的认知过载。因此大家正努力限制那些分散驾驶员注意力的设备(如手机)使用,尽可能减小对驾驶员注意力的分散以及降低出错的机率,这也是 HMI 设计得考虑的一个因素。

打破惯性思维,从用户出发

所以,博泰的设计团队,有别于其他工程师思维下的惯性设计逻辑操作模式,而是加入更多的用户体验思维。因为无论是车厂还是设计公司、无论是强调用户体验还是操作逻辑,最终验证产品的还是市场和用户,毕竟他们才是为这些设计买单的人,用户说好才是真的好。

业务联系

填写此表格即表示您同意博泰就此咨询与您取得联系。

业务合作描述


通过提交此表格,表示您同意博泰根据博泰隐私声明,
收集和使用您的个人信息,同时表示您同意博泰就此咨询与您取得联系。

联系我们 了解详细
选择语言
为了更好的体验,请使用竖屏浏览